My thesis

Last week I posted my graduate thesis, Argument quality in Pulitzer Prize-winning reporting, to this website. The posts to date and in the future on this blog are directly related to my research for the thesis, which was accepted at the University of Missouri School of Journalism in December 2011.

The Theoretical framework and literature review provides an argument for why theory in argumentation, informal logic, and critical thinking can be applied to journalism. The Results chapter summarizes what I found in testing my argument by analyzing stories from Pulitzer Prize-winning journalism from the Los Angeles Times, Sarasota Herald-Tribune, and Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. The Discussion chapter provides some further comments.

I sincerely hope you have time to browse a chapter or two and offer some criticism.

Leave a comment

