Thoughts about Wahl-Jorgensen’s ‘Strategic ritual of emotionality’

A few weeks ago, I sketched a post in response to Karin Wahl-Jorgensen’s article “The strategic ritual of emotionality”. But it seems I got delete-happy and erased the file.

I wanted to post about the article anyway because I found it stimulating. Here are some lightly edited notes and questions from my initial reading of the paper.

Replacing objectivity’s legal safeguard

I am less familiar with Gaye Tuchman’s work than I should be, but Wahl-Jorgensen’s article interested me in Tuchman’s work even more.

Wahl-Jorgensen summarizes Tuchman as arguing that reporters embraced traditional objectivity, with its standardized process, in part because it helped protect them from errors that could lead to expensive libel suits.

One position I recently took is that reporters who want to abandon traditional objectivity can use the principle of charity as part of a replacement ethical framework. The principle of charity, broadly stated, is that when we critize an argument we have an obligation to represent the argument in its strongest form.

If Tuchman is correct that reporters have embraced objectivity in part for its legal protections, then it seems to me fair and practical for reporters to ask whether the principle of charity would provide them similar shelter. I couldn’t answer that question today. But I have no interest in seeing a chilling effect follow from use of the principle. I’d like to research the legal literature to see whether it has addressed objectivity in the context of libel laws.

Where is the evidence?

Regina Lawrence and Matthew Schafer recently found that journalists who labeled Sarah Palin’s “death panels” claim false did so without attribution surprisingly frequently.

Similarly, Wahl-Jorgensen found evidence that journalists justfied claims, emotional or otherwise, without often rushing to use quotations as evidence, which, she says, the “objective” style might lead you to expect. Instead, reporters tended to rely on their epistemic authority: Their saying it was enough to justify it.

The two samples are not necessarily comparable. Wahl-Jorgensen studied Pulitzer-winning stories, and the other story examined general-purpose stories. Still, what is going on here?

2 thoughts on “Thoughts about Wahl-Jorgensen’s ‘Strategic ritual of emotionality’

  1. Karin Wahl-Jorgensen

    Hi David,

    Thanks for your post, which I just found by googling the my article! Interesting comments about similarities between Pulitzer Prize winning journalism and the lack of attribution in stories about death panels. For the Pulitzer Prize, aside from the issue of epistemic authority, I also think that the model of narrative journalism means that good storytelling takes precedence over the rituals of objectivity.

    Reply
  2. David Herrera Post author

    Hi, and thanks for commenting. Sorry it took me so long to respond.

    It seems that, along with Tuchman’s work, I need to set aside some time to study previous research about storytelling and journalistic narrative, such as what you’ve cited in your paper. If I’m reading you correctly, then an understanding of those ideas would take me a long way in making sense of what a reporter is trying to tell me in a long piece; what I’m expected to come away with, or do, or think.

    Reply

Leave a comment

